Speak to us 01784 222 304
or Make a Booking
Join the Dyslexia Guild

Level 5 Descriptors

Level 5 – unit courses are mapped against the Ofqual Level Descriptors[1] as follows:

Level 5

Knowledge Descriptor (the holder…)

  • Has practical, theoretical or technological knowledge and understanding of a subject or field of work to find ways forward in broadly defined, complex contexts.
  • Can analyse, interpret and evaluate relevant information, concepts and ideas.
  • Is aware of the nature and scope of the area of study or work.
  • Understands different perspectives, approaches or schools of thought and the reasoning behind them.

Skills Descriptor (the holder can…)

  • Determine, adapt and use appropriate methods, cognitive and practical skills to address broadly defined, complex problems.
  • Use relevant research or development to inform actions.
  • Evaluate actions, methods and results.

For comparison, typical Level 5 qualifications include Higher National Diplomas, Diplomas of Higher Education and Foundation Degrees. Levels 5 broadly equates to year two of an undergraduate programme.

For further details on qualification levels see:
Qualifications can cross boundaries
What qualification levels mean

[1] Ofqual 15/5774 (2015) Qualification and Component Levels: Requirements and Guidance for All Awarding Organisations and All Qualifications

Speak to us

01784 222 304

or Make a booking

Complete the online booking form to
enrol on one of our training courses